Posted in Other

Hello!

Hello.

I’m not sure what else to say.

I’ve kept a blog for the better part of a decade, but it wasn’t like this. It was just about my baking and, honestly, I’d go months without writing. When I did write, it tended to be anything but personal; just discussions about what I’d baked and how it tasted.

When I was in culinary school, the blog was a way to chronicle my experiences. It didn’t hurt that when I got out of class at 10:30pm I’d be so hopped up on sugar and adrenaline (from five hours of intense physical and mental effort) that I couldn’t go right home and to sleep. The blog was a good thing to do with my energy. At the end of the day, I had nine months of impressive posts to match my rather impressive skills–if I do say so myself.

That doesn’t really help me here. I’ve introduced myself on my “about” page and I don’t really think any of that bears repeating here. Since words are failing me–I know, you wouldn’t have guessed that from the nearly two hundred words I’ve written here so far–I guess I’ll just leave you with a picture. After all they are supposed to be worth a thousand words.

photo252520jan2525201025252c252520201425252c252520325253a10252520pm
Clockwise from top left: TARDIS cake and jammie dodgers, wedding cake with sugar dahlias, Halloween party, quilled Christmas cake decorations, Mississippi mud pie, peppermint patties and chocolate truffles, circus-themed cakes, a gluten-free plated dessert.

Why 2013? That’s the only year I did one of these pretty little collages. I bet you’re thinking, “wow, that’s a lot of fancy desserts, I’ll bet that was the year she went to culinary school.” You’re half right: that is a lot of fancy desserts, but that’s actually the year I was getting my MSc.

photo252520jan2525201025252c252520201425252c252520325253a11252520pm
Clockwise from top left: marble loaf cake with white chocolate glaze, coconut macaroons with coconut filling, chocolate and peanut butter cookie sandwiches, winter white and devil’s food cake, lemon loaves, german chocolate cake, rose cupcakes.

Oh yeah, and here’s another batch of my favorites. It might be a good time to mention that I bake when I’m stressed. The first half of 2013 involved trying to get into grad school and then waiting for my student visa to be approved. The second half of the year was the first term of grad school. I was, perhaps, a little stressed that year!

I’ll leave you with one final thought: when asked on an internship application to describe myself in “140 characters or less”, I answered, “I believe you mean 140 characters or fewer.” I proceeded to tell them that that was everything they needed to know about me. I didn’t get an interview–but it really does say everything you need to know.

Author:

Hi, I'm Mercedes. I'm a PhD candidate in politics and a trained pastry chef. I'm also an amateur photographer, hobby quilter, and all-around nutty girl living in the Big Apple.

Leave a Reply

