Posted in Pastries, Pics

My First Food Photos

donuts 1

I got my camera (a Canon Rebel T5i, if you are into that sort of thing) for this last Chanukah/Christmas. I’d really been wanting to step up my game on my old food blog and I thought a better camera would help me take better photos of my food. I was right about the camera helping me get better photos, I was wrong about that helping my blog. Seeing the quality (if I do say so myself) of some of the non-food pictures I took, I decided to add a photography section to my food blog. But that was silly and incongruous. It’s one of the reasons I decided to start this blog–because here the plan is to be silly and incongruous.

Cake 2

The first thing I did, I took photos of food. The donuts are homemade but, I confess, by the nice folks at Schutt’s Apple Farm, not by me.

donuts 2

I did make the cake though. It’s just a nice, simple, yellow cake with rich chocolate frosting and white chocolate buttons for decoration. Nothing fancy but I had it in the house. For comparison’s sake, below is a photo I took of the cake with my iPhone before I cut it.

Ginger's Cake

Even with low quality files (I shoot in RAW but I’m not going to bog down the blog with large files) I think the difference is noticeable–you should see the difference with the high quality files, the richness and lack of noise is remarkable!

Author:

Hi, I'm Mercedes. I'm a PhD candidate in politics and a trained pastry chef. I'm also an amateur photographer, hobby quilter, and all-around nutty girl living in the Big Apple.

Leave a Reply

