Posted in Pastries, Pics

More Food Photography Practice

Since I got my camera, I haven’t been baking quite as much as normal. That’s not to say I haven’t been baking. In fact, I entered a NY State Maple Syrup baking contest and won two third place ribbons!

FullSizeRender (2)

I’ve been remiss with my photography, as you can probably tell from this iPhone photo of my award winning maple bacon cornbread and my maple pecan sandwich cookies.

mini muffin 2

Anyway, food photography is hard and even with the nice camera I’m more interested in eating my baked goods than photographing them. Still, here are a few more of my creations. At the top of the page, we have a candied kumquat, strawberry, and basil scone. The problem with scones is that they never look as good as they taste; these look like nice and tasted better!

mini muffin 1

We’ve also got a pumpkin pound cake mini muffin with white chocolate glaze. As you can tell from the photos, we enjoyed them!

mendiant cookies

Last but not least, these chewy chocolate cookies are filled with dried figs and apricots, as well as slivered almonds and hazelnuts. Basically they are a cookie version of a mendiant chocolate–a traditional French candy studded with the aforementioned fruit and nuts, representing the colors of the four mendicant orders.

christmas cookies 1

I find cookies extremely difficult to photograph. Something about the small size and the context, I suppose, makes them difficult to do them on their own as I did with the scone and muffins. They just look lonely on a plate. (Larger cookies, like these gingerbread snowflakes, are a bit easier. Plus the flatness of them makes them easier to fan out on a plate for a nice composition.) But stacking/piling them presents problems with dead space between the cookies that shows up dark. Not to mention a cookie doesn’t “pop” as well if it’s background is more cookies rather than a contrasting color plate. My trick is to use a short enough depth of field to get just one cookie in focus, blurring the stack (and its dead space). I’m sure there are other ways of dealing with cookie photography. As I discover new tricks, I’ll let you know.

Author:

Hi, I'm Mercedes. I'm a PhD candidate in politics and a trained pastry chef. I'm also an amateur photographer, hobby quilter, and all-around nutty girl living in the Big Apple.

Leave a Reply

