Posted in Pastries

Recipe for White Chocolate and Rhubarb Mini Loaves

When I made the rhubarb bars, I had nearly half the bundle of rhubarb left over. I’d owed baked goods to some people and figured I’d use up the rhubarb, because who doesn’t like rhubarb? I always like giving away mini loaf cakes: they are easily transportable, a good size, yummy, and easily modified to work with nearly any flavor combination.

IMG_3501

In this case, mainly because I had already packed my kitchen aid, I opted for a liquid fat base instead of a creamed butter base. Since I was using fresh rhubarb and decided to add white chocolate chips (because chocolate, even white chocolate, makes anything better) I wanted a base with some acidity to contrast with the sweetness. I found a good basic recipe for buttermilk quick bread on The Kitchn and went from there, modifying it quite a bit.

The result was a tender, sweet and slightly tangy, loaf with pieces of lightly caramelized white chocolate and fresh rhubarb. It was a hit with my old office and my neighbor. And my household (we might have eaten more than one loaf).

IMG_3499

Recipe for 6 mini loaves (give or take depending on your pan) or 2 normal loaves

  • 4 cups all purpose flour plus 1 tbsp
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 3 tsp baking powder 
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 2 cups buttermilk
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup canola oil
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • Zest 1/2 orange
  • Approx 2 cups rhubarb chopped
  • 1 cup white chocolate chips
  1. Preheat the oven to 350*F and grease your pans.
  2. Combine the flour (reserving the extra 1 tbsp), sugar, baking powder, baking soda, and salt in a large bowl. 
  3. Whisk together the buttermilk, eggs, oil, vanilla, and orange zest in another bowl or large measuring cup.
  4. In a third bowl, mix the chopped rhubarb with the remaining 1 tbsp flour
  5. Finally, gently mix the buttermilk mixture into the flour mixture, until just combined. Then fold in the rhubarb and white chocolate chips.
  6. Divide between the prepared pans and bake for about 35 min for 6 medium loaves, or around 50-60 for 2 large ones. They will be lightly golden and the white chocolate chips near the top will have started to caramelize. 

Allow to cool fully before wrapping or eating. I recommend storing them in the fridge wrapped in plastic wrap or foil if you plan to keep them more than two days. For gifting, I like wrapping them in parchment and giving them away no later than one day after baking.

IMG_3503

Author:

Hi, I'm Mercedes. I'm a PhD candidate in politics and a trained pastry chef. I'm also an amateur photographer, hobby quilter, and all-around nutty girl living in the Big Apple.

Leave a Reply

