Posted in Pics

Lamberton Conservatory

The voters have spoken and it’s a tie. As the vote for Lamberton came in first, I will post it first. But not to worry, Letchworth will be coming up very soon.

For those of you who are not familiar with Lamberton, it’s a small but very well kept conservatory in Rochester, NY. They’ve got a great variety of tropical plants like orchids and bougainvillea.

Plus some fantastic hibiscus plants. I’ve never seen so many varieties.

They’ve also got a desert room with cacti. Not my favorite room objectively, but I do really like the cactus photos.

IMG_7646

And it’s home to turtles, tortoises, and quail, who all wander around the green houses. The turtles (or possibly tortoises) didn’t seem to mind me and my camera but the quail were rather less thrilled and I couldn’t get one decent photo of the fast little guys.

IMG_7639
It’s turtles all the way down.

I digress. I was there to take photos of flowers not wildlife.

IMG_7638

Of course you don’t need flowers to get great photos, one of my favorites is this picure of the underside of a gigantic leaf.

IMG_7651

In fact, you don’t even need to go into the conservatory to get a beautiful photo. For one thing it’s in Highland Park (where they hold the lilac festival), and for another, they have pretty flowers planted around the outside of the conservatory. I snapped this shot of, possibly, some type of butterfly bush as I was leaving. It’s actually one of my favorites of the day.

Author:

Hi, I'm Mercedes. I'm a PhD candidate in politics and a trained pastry chef. I'm also an amateur photographer, hobby quilter, and all-around nutty girl living in the Big Apple.

Leave a Reply

