Posted in Pastries

Pear and White Chocolate Scones with Recipe

I baked for my first time in my new kitchen a couple of weeks ago. It’s always hard getting used to a new kitchen, especially a tiny one. That’s why I decided to make something simple. I had heavy cream that was going to go bad, so that meant scones!

img_3565

It’s been so hot out that I can’t quite bring myself to make autumnal apple or pumpkin flavored desserts yet, but at the same time summer is over and the berry prices are reflecting that. So I figured I’d use up some lovely pears I had in my fridge. After that the addition of white chocolate, lemon, and ginger came quite naturally. And anyway, it’s sort of fall-ish, but lighter.

The flavors were lovely together and perfectly complemented the flakey, biscuit-y, scone base. Why a biscuit-y scone base rather than a standard scone? I like the melted butter rather than cut in butter method. It’s easier. That’s not to say I will never use the cut in butter method again, just that in this case I was looking for simple.

 

img_3567

Pear and White Chocolate Scones

Makes 14-18

Ingredients:

  • 3 cups AP flour
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp baking powder 
  • Zest of 1 lemon
  • 1/8 tsp dried ginger
  • 1/4 tsp fresh grated ginger 
  • 3/4 cup heavy cream
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 1 1/2 sticks butter, melted and cooled
  • 1 pear, diced
  • 1/2 cup mini white chocolate chips 

Method:

  • Preheat the oven to 425*F.
  • In a large bowl, mix together the flour, sugar, baking powder and soda, lemon zest, and dried ginger.
  • Gently whisk the egg yolk, heavy cream, and ginger together.
  • Make a well in the middle of the dry ingredients and pour in the cream mixture and melted butter into it.
  • With a rubber spatula or wooden spoon, gently stir all the ingredients together until just combined.
  • Gently mix in the pear and white chocolate. I recommend using your hands–but don’t kneed.
  • Turn out the dough onto a floured cutting board.
  • Pat down to about 3/4-1 in thick and cut into equal size pieces (I made 16 rectangles–but you can do triangles, circles, diamonds, whatever.) If you have scrap pieces, just pull them together. Don’t do this more than once–or your scones will be tough.
  • At this point you can freeze the scones (they’ll last 3 month and you can just bake them from frozen, add about 3-5 minutes to the baking times below) or bake them right away.
  • If you want to, brush the top of each scone with heavy cream and then sprinkle liberally with granulated sugar–it’ll give them a lovely crust.
  • When baking them, the time will depend on how big you’ve cut them. I’d say if you’ve only gotten 14 out of the dough you’ll probably want to keep the baking time around 12-14 minutes. For 20, I’d stick closer to 10 minutes. The key is that they will be golden brown. Don’t worry if you have to keep checking them, they aren’t souffles, they aren’t going to fall if you open the oven too early.
  • Serve them at room temperature with tea or warm with hazelnut gelato (lemoncello gelato is also nice with them, as is the ol’ standby: vanilla.)

img_3566

Author:

Hi, I'm Mercedes. I'm a PhD candidate in politics and a trained pastry chef. I'm also an amateur photographer, hobby quilter, and all-around nutty girl living in the Big Apple.

2 thoughts on “Pear and White Chocolate Scones with Recipe

Leave a Reply

