Posted in Pastries

Halloween Cookies

Halloween is a great excuse to bake!

halloween-cookie-6

I decided I had to make something with candy corn–don’t ask me why, I have no good reason. After some googling, I discovered that people really like candy corn with salted peanuts and/or peanut butter. So I modified a Martha Stewart for chunky peanut butter cookies (I got rid of the chunks and added more peanut butter). When I flattened them, instead of using a fork, I used a candy corn.

halloween-cookie-3

It really is a good flavor combo and they look nice too!

halloween-cookie-1

I also had to make something with chocolate. Because chocolate. But how to make them Halloween-y. Well of course Reese’s Pieces are the perfect colors…but the other cookies were already peanut buttery. So I figured I’d hunt down orange M&Ms. That shouldn’t be too hard.

halloween-cookie-5

Well there is no force on earth that could compel me to go into the M&M store near Times Square. So I was dependent on normal retail locations having some sort of pre-packaged Halloween themed M&M mixes. I couldn’t find them. So I ended up with 2 bags of regular M&Ms and a friend who was willing to pull out the orange and brown ones in exchange for some of the final product!

halloween-cookie-2

Anyway, these were just my favorite chewy chocolate chocolate chip cookie recipe made the M&Ms instead of chocolate chips. Yum!

Author:

Hi, I'm Mercedes. I'm a PhD candidate in politics and a trained pastry chef. I'm also an amateur photographer, hobby quilter, and all-around nutty girl living in the Big Apple.

Leave a Reply

