Posted in Pics

Flowers

Last Mother’s Day, I did some work at my local florist. Lovely place, lovely people, lovely flowers. And the owner let me futz around with my camera for a couple hours of one of my shifts if I took shots for her website/social media pages.

I had a ton of fun working there and two of my four desktop photos are from the batch of photos I took while working there.

Since it was Mother’s Day the is a preponderance of pink roses. One of my favorite things about this florist is that she uses really gorgeous colors and makes some striking arrangements. Not that these aren’t great–because they are!–they just aren’t quite as great as some of her other arrangements.

Not that there weren’t some different combinations for Mother’s Day too. Lot’s of gerber daisies, some irises, some stunning orchids, a couple irises, and even a few snapdragons. Plus that cute potted johnny jump up plant (although technically that was just sitting around the store.)

The most fun for me was creating some Facebook banners. Post processing is generally tedious, but I love how the banners give you a new perspective on the flowers. Like the one with the gorgeous calla lily–that’s actually rotated about 90 degrees from the original and cropped so the rose really pops surrounded by green and the calla lily shows against the grey so nicely. We (and by we I really mean they–I mainly just cleaned and trimmed roses and carried buckets of flowers down to the cold storage in the basement) made absurd amounts of bouquets. It was a fantastic experience and I think I got some lovely photos, too!

img_3739

 

Author:

Hi, I'm Mercedes. I'm a PhD candidate in politics and a trained pastry chef. I'm also an amateur photographer, hobby quilter, and all-around nutty girl living in the Big Apple.

Leave a Reply

