Posted in Pics

New Horizon: Weekly Photo Challenge

I’ve been thinking about trying a weekly photo challenge. It seems like a good way to prioritize my new(ish) hobby without being overwhelming. The problem is, most of the photography challenges I find seem a bit overwhelming–I’m pretty busy with school, work, and my other hobbies. I don’t want to have to do portraits (that’s not what I’m interested in) or have to go outside to do a landscape (because sometimes I’m too busy to make a special trip and sometimes it’s cold!) or really be told to do any specific assignment (that’s what school’s for). Then I stumbled across another weekly photography challenge. They give broad topics that you can interpret as you wish. Also it doesn’t feel like quite the same level of commitment as the 52 week ones.

I’ve wimped out and taken photos for a couple of their recent themes but failed to post them. This week the theme is “New Horizon“. They suggest this could be taken as starting a New Year’s resolution early or setting a new goal. So here goes: I’m going to post to their weekly photo challenge! I’m not promising weekly posts–I don’t see myself being that disciplined about it. But I promise at least one per month, hopefully more!

I’m starting safe. Above is my new horizon. I took this photo not too long after I moved to NYC and not too far from my new apartment. Plus it is actually a photo of the horizon!

Author:

Hi, I'm Mercedes. I'm a PhD candidate in politics and a trained pastry chef. I'm also an amateur photographer, hobby quilter, and all-around nutty girl living in the Big Apple.

2 thoughts on “New Horizon: Weekly Photo Challenge

Leave a Reply

