Posted in Pastries

Lemon Chiffon Cake: TBT

Throwback to when I was in the second cake unit in culinary school (about 3 months into the program, I think) and piped a basketweave decorations for the first time. I ended up have to make this exact cake (well, pretty much) for my final exam. It was, arguably, the hardest assignment since no one else was forced to do buttercream decorations and make a different filling. But I loved the chiffon cake and even after all the genoise we made during the course (this was the only time we made a chiffon cake), I found it easier to get perfect.
The one in this photo isn’t perfect, but it was close. The buttercream was a perfect consistency, if I remember correctly, but still not an amazing flavor. It was an Italian buttercream and, if I’m forced to use a meringue based buttercream, I prefer Swiss buttercream. Still it looked great and was really easy to pipe.

This cake was incredible! The cake itself was a lemon chiffon cake–chiffon cakes are so named because they so smooth. It was filled with lemon curd, which is one of my favorite things ever, and covered with buttercream (that I did a really good job making, if I do say so myself!) The fun part of making this cake is that we got to practicing decorating techniques. We learnt how to do basketweave, swiss dots, and a specific type of lace pattern (I’m forgetting the technical name), so I divided my cake into three sections and  tried to do each pattern. I like the swiss dots, but they are a bit boring. I love the basket weave. It’s easier to do than I thought, but still quite difficult (mainly because I do not have a steady hand). The lace wasn’t my favorite, but I think if I’d used a smaller icing tip and piped finer squiggles it would have looked nicer.
Basketweave
Swiss Dots
Lace
Author:

Hi, I'm Mercedes. I'm a PhD candidate in politics and a trained pastry chef. I'm also an amateur photographer, hobby quilter, and all-around nutty girl living in the Big Apple.

Leave a Reply

