Posted in Pics

Shadow: WPC

This week the theme for this week’s photo challenge is: shadow. I was surprised at how much I avoid shadows in photography. Or rather I avoid the stark, bright light that happens to then throw deep shadows.

I do a lot of food photography and while a gentle shadow is nice, harsh shadows aren’t appetizing. And in macro photography it’s hard to get a good photo of details if high or low lights are blown out.

I was out today trying to get a good photo but it was overcast–perfect photography light but not perfect shadow casting light.

But I did have harsher light when I was at Letchworth State Park. And I really liked how the bridge cast a shadow on the creek below it. So above we have the shadow and below we have the bridge and the shadow it casts. I guess I don’t completely avoid shadows and bright light.

IMG_3542

Author:

Hi, I'm Mercedes. I'm a PhD candidate in politics and a trained pastry chef. I'm also an amateur photographer, hobby quilter, and all-around nutty girl living in the Big Apple.

4 thoughts on “Shadow: WPC

      1. Salut will do (or hi or bonjour or just a dandy wave of the hand) …. entirely my pleasure and I have you bookmarked for a better look when I take time out to explore new blogs later in the week – I have a little bet with self that I will be very pleased with what I unearth. A bientôt 😊

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

