Posted in Pastries

Birthday Cake

It’s been a while (my birthday is in April!), but here it finally is! I made a white confetti cake from Baked Celebrations (it’s their ultimate birthday cake cake). I did 1.5 times the recipe and made three 9in rounds rather than three 8in rounds, since I don’t have three 8in cake pans. Plus extra cake! It worked brilliantly.

I filled and topped it with chocolate buttercream based off a Martha Stewart recipe and then covered the whole thing with a ton more sprinkles!

IMG_0768
Covering the cake with sprinkles

How great is that for a birthday?!

IMG_0796

I should point out that I made my own birthday cake because we had family coming over. My mom really does make good cakes but they just aren’t as impressive as mine (she’s not a trained pastry chef after all) and everyone always looks slightly disappointed if I don’t make dessert.

IMG_0776

And let’s face it, wouldn’t you be disappointed if you could have had this but instead got something tasty but conventional?

IMG_0811

P.S. I didn’t have my camera so I took all these photos with my iphone. Not bad for a camera phone, but not the quality I could get with my canon…ah well.

Author:

Hi, I'm Mercedes. I'm a PhD candidate in politics and a trained pastry chef. I'm also an amateur photographer, hobby quilter, and all-around nutty girl living in the Big Apple.

Leave a Reply

