Posted in Other, Politics

Stegosaurus

I’ve got a close friend who, among her many talents, is a software engineer. She build me a website for my birthday. It’s like index cards for recipes, but online and prettier! Plus you can’t lose a website. Plus she gave me a dinosaur origami book! Her birthday is a month after mine and the bar was set pretty high.

IMG_1018
Look at the blue belly! That took some skill to plan and sew (if I do say so myself).

I’d found a random fat quarter with dinosaur names on it at my local sewing store upstate and bought it. I knew I wanted to make something with it for her (we both like dinosaurs!) but I wasn’t sure what. A pillow wasn’t very exciting (and definitely not as exciting as a custom made website!) So I thought a dinosaur made of dinosaur fabric would be fun.

IMG_1011

It turns out that I don’t like any of the dinosaur stuffed animal patterns on the internet. They are either far too complex for a novice like me, far too simple (and teething-toy-ish) to be a nice gift for an adult (no matter how crazy), or not nearly dinosaur-y enough (either because they were cartoon-ish or ambiguously ‘monster’-ish.) So I took ideas from 3 patterns and made my own! I might post the pattern at some point, but at the moment it’s not quite ready.

img_1012.jpg

I think she (or possibly he–it’s my friend’s choice) is lovely. And the best news is, I have enough fabric left to make my own stegosaurus!

 

Author:

Hi, I'm Mercedes. I'm a PhD candidate in politics and a trained pastry chef. I'm also an amateur photographer, hobby quilter, and all-around nutty girl living in the Big Apple.

Leave a Reply

