Posted in Pics

Out of Focus: WPC

This week’s challenge, focus, was almost too easy! I do a lot of macro and/or food photography so focus is very important. I’ve had many a photo come out terribly, with the focus just slightly off or the depth of field just a bit too wide or too narrow. On occasion, though, as the prompt reminds us, sometimes an out of focus photo can be beautiful in it’s own way.

IMG_3595

Every so often I’ll take a photo and I’ll just be way off and it’ll come out nothing but boekah. Most of the time they go in the trash, but some make it into my “misc” folder. These first two photos are both from a night I was attempting to get blurred traffic with an in focus background. Well I got blurred, alright! (I did also get what I was shooting for as you can see here.)

IMG_3656

These next photos are of a large Christmas tree near Lincoln Center. I’d been planning on taking a series of these–starting as out of focus as possible and zeroing in on perfectly in focus.

IMG_4134

Before I could get the tree in focus I was told to get off the grass. I was not on the grass, I was on a stepping stone path and it was late enough in the year that there wasn’t much grass between the stones (not to mention it was public, not private, property).

IMG_4132

It didn’t seem much good to argue with the Lincoln Square beautification person. Their job (as far as I can tell, and I’ve spent the better part of a decade trying to figure this out) is to yell at people for littering and stepping on the grass. They’ve certainly never done anything to aid people who might be in need of assistance (I once heard someone ask one of these men for directions to a neighborhood restaurant–and he didn’t know where it was). I digress.

IMG_4125

While I was disappointed that I never got the full series, I have to say, these out of focus photos are pretty stunning anyway!

Author:

Hi, I'm Mercedes. I'm a PhD candidate in politics and a trained pastry chef. I'm also an amateur photographer, hobby quilter, and all-around nutty girl living in the Big Apple.

One thought on “Out of Focus: WPC

Leave a Reply

