Posted in Pastries

Coconut Macaroons

When I brought the Coconut Cashew & White Chocolate Cookies in to class, I also made a quick batch of white chocolate coconut macaroons because one of my classmates has celiac. I’m not sure she liked them–I got in the habit of keeping them rather under-sweetened because my cousin who is celiac is diabetic as well–but I liked the leftovers (and one of my other classmates ‘stole’ a few and she loved them) so I’m not too worried!

macaroons 2

The reason I’m sharing these is because I’m so pleased with how they look. I used desiccated coconut so I was able to get the pyramid shape that they demonstrated in culinary school.

macaroons 4

Plus the tempered white chocolate came out brilliantly. I hadn’t tempered chocolate in, well, it must have been over a year… And white chocolate is the most difficult because the temperature range is lower and narrower. Yet I got it tempered–and perfectly–on my first try. Just like riding a bike–only more fattening!

coconut macaroons 3

 

Author:

Hi, I'm Mercedes. I'm a PhD candidate in politics and a trained pastry chef. I'm also an amateur photographer, hobby quilter, and all-around nutty girl living in the Big Apple.

Leave a Reply

