Posted in Pics

A Peek into the Past: WPC

I can’t help it, I’m doing a second post for this week’s photo challenge. It’s a fun topic, I suppose. Or maybe it’s that time in the semester that I just need a diversion. In any case, these photos are from a visit this past summer to Genesee Country Museum. I know I’ve mentioned them before, but I love going and it’s such a fun place to take photos.

I have tons of pictures, so I figured I’d go with the more literal peeks…

…farm animals peeking through a fence rail, me peeking in or out a window and ahead through doorways, and a flyer peeking out of a drawer.

IMG_3204.PNG

All off these offer a glimpse–or a peek, if you will–into the past, courtesy of this living history museum.

Oh and one more thing: a little peek behind the scenes. They are doing restoration work on the Victorian section and I loved seeing the contrast between the old and new paint work. I also liked seeing that they use modern equipment–I always think it’s so stupid when people on home renovation shows do things like only using the tools that someone building in pioneer times might have used. Do you really think that if a pioneer had modern tools they wouldn’t have used them?

IMG_3202.PNG

Author:

Hi, I'm Mercedes. I'm a PhD candidate in politics and a trained pastry chef. I'm also an amateur photographer, hobby quilter, and all-around nutty girl living in the Big Apple.

2 thoughts on “A Peek into the Past: WPC

Leave a Reply

