Posted in Pastries

Faux Fudge: TBT

There’s something about winter that makes me crave candy. Perhaps it’s because I’m more willing to tolerate standing in a hot kitchen stirring tempered chocolate or boiling sugar when the alternative is braving the arctic temperatures of the North East. This winter it’s not actually been very cold. Just today the mercury creeped up into the mid-40s!

Plus my apartment kitchen doesn’t really lend itself to full scale candy making.

I think I might have to settle for making my ‘fake fudge.’ It’s made with condensed milk and lots of chocolate. It solidifies into something very close to fudge when it’s chilled. It’s incredibly easy and really delicious. So while it’s not quite real fudge, maybe it’s better!

That’s why today I’m throwing back to that time that I made this fudge and actually bothered to write down the proportions of everything rather than my usual throw-handfuls-of-chocolate-and-fixin’s-into-the-pot-and-hope-for-the-best method of making my fake fudge.


 

Almond Joy Fudge

I love fudge but I don’t always feel like dealing with the typical candy making exercises like making cooked sugar, so I really love “fake” fudge made with a condensed milk base. I know it isn’t fudge in the strictest sense, but it is close enough. I have made this fake fudge before, but this is my own recipe (based very loosely on a Nigella Lawson fudge recipe from, I believe, Nigella Express.)

Faux Fudge

Ingredients:

  • 14 oz good dark chocolate, chopped
  • One 14oz can condensed milk
  • 2 tbsp butter
  • Pinch salt
  • Additions, see below

Procedure:

  1. Line a 9x9in pan with foil and lightly butter the foil.
  2. Combine the condensed milk, butter, salt, and chopped chocolate in a saucepan. Put over low heat and warm until the chocolate and butter is melted, stirring occasionally with a rubber spatula.
  3. Promptly but not too vigorously, stir in any additions
  4. Pour into the pan and even out the top.
  5. Allow to set on the counter for at least 30-60 min and then transfer to the refrigerator to chill for another 2 hours or overnight.
  6. Slice into one inch squares with a sharp knife and store in one layer or in multiple layers with wax paper between them in an airtight container in the fridge.

This fudge should be stored cold but it can be left out for hours, which is convenient if you want to give it as a gift. And fudge makes an excellent gift!

Variations:

  • Almond Joy: Add 1 cup shredded unsweetened coconut and 3/4 cup slivered blanched almonds
  • Coconut: Add 1 cup shredded unsweetened coconut
  • White chocolate chip/swirl: Add 1 cup white chocolate, coarsely chopped. Some will melt, some will not.
  • Walnut: Add 1 1/4 cups chopped, toasted walnuts
  • Sea Salt: Once the fudge is in the pan, sprinkle over a couple pinches of Maldon or grey sea salt to taste
Author:

Hi, I'm Mercedes. I'm a PhD candidate in politics and a trained pastry chef. I'm also an amateur photographer, hobby quilter, and all-around nutty girl living in the Big Apple.

Leave a Reply

