Posted in Pastries

Recipe for Pan Toasted Granola

Two brunch posts in a row. I guess that’s what happens on summer holidays. This time, though, I won’t just torment you with talk about how great my brunch was. This time I’ll give you the recipe so you can see how good it is for yourself!

Since it’s summer I’m not making my usual oven baked granola (I’ve modified it substantially, but it’s based off Alice’s Tea Cup’s granola recipe if you ever want to try it) because I don’t have A/C and I don’t want the oven on for long periods of time. So I tried to modify it to work in on the stovetop. I figured if you can toast nuts–an essential component of granola–in the oven or on the stovetop, you can do the same with the whole kit and caboodle.
I was right. And I even jotted down how I did it, so I’m sharing the recipe with you. It’s not exact because I wasn’t being terribly precise in my measurements–mainly just tossing things in a pan–but I think I approximated them well enough. The good news is, you don’t have to be exact either. What if you prefer walnuts to pecans? Or you don’t have pepitas in the cupboard? That’s fine. Substitute in those walnuts and swap out the pumpkin seeds in favor of sunflower seeds. Or maybe you can use 3/4 cup of oats and leave out the seeds altogether. Go crazy!
In any case, here is the base recipe for your breakfast enjoyment. The whole thing only takes about 10-15 minutes (not counting cooling time) to make and you get enough for at least two meals if you eat it on yogurt like I do. So what are you waiting for? Go, make some!
Photo-20160615213053431.jpg

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup whole oats
  • 1/3 cup coarsely chopped pecans
  • 1/3 cup pepitas (pumpkin seeds)
  • 1/4 cup dried cranberries (diced dried apricots would be nice too)
  • 1 – 2 tbsp water
  • 1-3 tbsp (local wildflower) honey

Procedure:

  1. Mix the oats with about 1-2 tbsp water, it should be fully absorbed by the oats.
  2. Toast oats in a dry pan until they look dry and ever so slightly golden.
  3. Add the pecans then pepitas. Toast until fragrant.
  4. Once lightly toasted, remove from heat and pour over the honey, stir.
  5. Return to a medium heat, stirring frequently for about 2 minutes until slightly more toasted. Pour onto a piece of parchment, spread evenly with a rubber spatula (not your fingers, it will be HOT) and leave to cool.
  6. Add dried cranberries to taste.
  7. Serve with milk or over yogurt.

 

 

Author:

Hi, I'm Mercedes. I'm a PhD candidate in politics and a trained pastry chef. I'm also an amateur photographer, hobby quilter, and all-around nutty girl living in the Big Apple.

Leave a Reply

