Posted in Pics

Resilient: WPC

Resilient. It could mean so many things. As a New Yorker, I thought about photographing the new building where the World Trade Center had stood–talk about resilience. But I was doing that because it fit the challenge, not because it inspired me.

So I took my camera, with my new 40mm prime lens attached, for a walk. It was a beautiful day. I thought I’d see something.

I took pictures of bulbs sprouting from under dead leaves. I found some pansies that were somehow hanging in there after a recent cold snap. I almost took photos of my local farmers market, but there were only two stands still open by the time I got there–it looked rather sad and ragtag, not what I was going for with the theme “resilient.”

Then I remembered the sculpture outside Martin Luther King, Jr. High School. With quotes from MLK about the civil rights movement, what could say resilient better (or more eloquently)?

Author:

Hi, I'm Mercedes. I'm a PhD candidate in politics and a trained pastry chef. I'm also an amateur photographer, hobby quilter, and all-around nutty girl living in the Big Apple.

3 thoughts on “Resilient: WPC

Leave a Reply

