Posted in Pics

The World Famous Cronut: WPC

This week’s photo challenge was to photograph things that are a good match. I wasn’t terribly inspired. In fairness, that might be because I’m insanely busy with school and work at the moment and not because the topic wasn’t inspirational. Either way, I probably wasn’t going to do the challenge. 

But then I was downtown to pick up something from the office. Something had come up and it wasn’t at the front desk when it was supposed to be. It’d be about an hour late. What to do?

img_0576

The answer was easy: go to Dominique Ansel Bakery and hope that they still had cronuts left at about 11 on a Tuesday. They did! Since it’s the last day of the month I got to try the outgoing flavor: lychee and rose.

I know some people who would say something to the extent of, “why did you have to ruin a perfectly nice lychee cronut by spraying perfume on it?” But I thought the rose was subtle enough to provide a complex undertone to the lychee fruit without making it taste–for lack of a better word–soapy.

img_0577

Plus the texture and taste of the cronut itself, the smoothness of the glaze, the crunch of the toasted pistachios on top.

Anyway for the “good match” component (because rose and lychee, while nice, are not the good match I’m talking about). Dominique Ansel Bakery has a small outdoor seating area. A cronut and a sunny early spring day what could be a better match?!

cronut.jpg

P.S. Forgive the quality of the photos, I only had my iphone on me because I was picking up something rather heavy from work–and anyway I hadn’t planned on needing a camera.

Author:

Hi, I'm Mercedes. I'm a PhD candidate in politics and a trained pastry chef. I'm also an amateur photographer, hobby quilter, and all-around nutty girl living in the Big Apple.

Leave a Reply

