Posted in Politics

Have You Registered To Vote?

13071764_10156864514385010_8312021183263806810_o
I know this isn’t quite right, but they don’t give out “I registered to Vote Today” stickers.

I just logged in, planning to post some lovely photos I took recently. Those will have to wait because wordpress distracted me. They asked me if I’d like to put an app on my blog that will remind US visitors to register to vote. I’ve done it.

I’ve always thought that voting is important. This year it is so much more important.

As you might have noticed, I support Hillary Clinton. As a Clinton supporter, I know Trump has motivated a lot of people to support his campaign who might otherwise not vote. That’s why it’s vitally important for Clinton supporters to make sure they too can vote.

Let me tell you a story. It appears from polling that more than 50 percent of Brits (overall) wanted to “remain.” But more than 50 percent of the people who actually bothered to vote wanted to “leave.” There’s a lesson for you: don’t count on your opponent’s supporters being lazier than you. (Or conversely, don’t count on your fellow supporters being less lazy than you.)

So click the little reminder (or go to vote.gov) and make sure you are registered before it’s too late.

Author:

Hi, I'm Mercedes. I'm a PhD candidate in politics and a trained pastry chef. I'm also an amateur photographer, hobby quilter, and all-around nutty girl living in the Big Apple.

Leave a Reply

