Posted in Pics

Ruins on the Hudson: CB&W

This week’s black and white photo challenge had an interesting theme: natural ground. I realized most of my photos don’t prominently feature the ground. I suppose that’s because many of my photos are of my food, are macro, or are in NYC–where natural ground is a bit scarce. 

I found two photos of mine from a walk on the Hudson River, I think they are interesting because they play with the idea of what natural ground really is. Generally, the natural ground is where things grow, but what about ground that can’t grow things? Or things that grow not out of the natural ground? That’s what I examine here. The sandy shore giving way to the river and the plants growing, not out of the ground, but out of the rotting structure of the old pier over the water.

colorized-pier

Author:

Hi, I'm Mercedes. I'm a PhD candidate in politics and a trained pastry chef. I'm also an amateur photographer, hobby quilter, and all-around nutty girl living in the Big Apple.

2 thoughts on “Ruins on the Hudson: CB&W

Leave a Reply

