Posted in Pics

Newton’s Cradle: CB&W

This week’s challenge for Cee’s Black and White Photography Challenge was toys. Fun! I toyed with (get it?!) the idea of photographing my sewing machine or my silly ‘adult coloring books’. But for me crafting and toys are different categories. So I decided to fiddle around with my Newton’s Cradle.

newton 5

I wanted to freeze it with one of the end balls in mid-air but my apartment isn’t light enough to use such a fast shutter speed and still have a semi-decent photo. Still I got some fun shots, I think.

newton 1

Particularly this one, where even though the movement isn’t frozen, you can see the movement of the end balls.

 

You can sort of see the motion in all of them actually. And in some ways I think it’s cooler that way than frozen mid-swing.

newton 2

Author:

Hi, I'm Mercedes. I'm a PhD candidate in politics and a trained pastry chef. I'm also an amateur photographer, hobby quilter, and all-around nutty girl living in the Big Apple.

One thought on “Newton’s Cradle: CB&W

Leave a comment